“I Love You” in 17 Languages


All the following words mean the same thing–love. The different combinations of letters making a simple sentence of “I love you” look so different looking language to language. Here they are: 

Arabic: أحبك

Chinese (traditional): 我愛你

Danish: Jeg elsker dig

Dutch: Ik hou van jou

English: I Love You

Filipino: Mahal kita

Greek: Σ ‘αγαπώ

Hindi: मुझसे तुमसे प्यार है

Indonesian: Aku cinta kamu

Italian: Io ti amo

Japanese: わたしは、あなたを愛しています

Latin: Ave Maria

Romanian: Te iubesc

Russian: Я люблю тебя

Spanish: Te amo

Vietnamese: Tôi yêu bạn


How does it make you feel that all of these words mean the same thing yet all look so different?

Did you already know how to say “I love you”  in any of these languages?

Comment it below if you did!

brianna's NEW signature



  1. February 29, 2016 / 11:47 am

    Well… I am from India and English is also the official language here…Most of the Indians know English. They teach us English in schools. Indians speak English pretty well … There are various languages spoken in India. India is the true example of Unity in Diversity… 🙂

    • February 29, 2016 / 12:35 pm

      Right I forgot about that! I think America should be bilingual as wel

  2. February 29, 2016 / 10:59 am

    By the way, it is , मुझे तुमसे प्यार है

  3. February 29, 2016 / 10:54 am

    Well, I knew ‘I love you’ in Hindi, as it is my mother tongue… Thanks for adding it!

    • February 29, 2016 / 11:23 am

      Hindi is your mother tongue? That’s pretty cool! What made you want to learn English?

    • January 18, 2016 / 8:26 am

      Are you Dutch? If so that’s awesome!

What Are Your Thoughts On This?